Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home topics The euro France and the euro

France and the euro

03 February 2008
by eub2 -- last modified 03 February 2008

France is a founding member of the European Union and was one of the first-wave EU countries to adopt the euro on 1 January 1999.


France at a glance

Surface: 549 090 km2
Population: 63 392 140 (Eurostat 2007, provisional figure)
Joined the European Union: founding member (25 March 1957)
Currency: Euro since 1 January 1999 (formerly French franc, FRF)

Euro information

Status: Euro-area member since 1 January 1999.

Fixed conversion rate: €1 = 6.55957 FRF

Adoption of the euro: The euro banknotes and coins were introduced in France on 1 January 2002, after a transitional period of three years when the euro was the official currency but only existed as 'book money'. The dual circulation period – when both the French franc and the euro had legal tender status – ended on 17 February 2002.

Exchange of former national currency: The Banque de France (National Central Bank of France) exchanged French franc coins until 17 February 2005 and will continue to exchange French franc banknotes until 17 February 2012.

Documents and publications

Opinion polls and surveys


Euro websites




Source: European Commission