Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home topics The euro Belgium and the euro

Belgium and the euro

03 February 2008
by eub2 -- last modified 03 February 2008

Belgium is a founding member of the European Union and was one of the first-wave EU countries to adopt the euro on 1 January 1999.


Belgium at a glance

Surface area: 30 530 km2
Population: 10 511 382 (Eurostat 2006)
Joined the European Union: founding member (25 March 1957)
Currency: euro since 1 January 1999 (formerly Belgian franc, BEF)

Euro information

Status: Euro-area member since 1 January 1999

Fixed conversion rate: €1 = 40.3399 BEF

Adoption of the euro: The euro banknotes and coins were introduced in Belgium on 1 January 2002, after a transitional period of three years when the euro was the official currency but only existed as 'book money'. The dual circulation period – when both the Belgian franc and the euro had legal tender status – ended on 28 February 2002.

Exchange of former national currency: The Banque nationale de Belgique – Nationale Bank van België (National Central Bank of Belgium) exchanged national coins until 31 December 2004 and will continue to exchange national banknotes for an unlimited period.

Opinion polls and surveys


Euro websites