Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home topics airlines Updates to the EU air safety list

Updates to the EU air safety list

11 December 2014
by eub2 -- last modified 11 December 2014

The European Commission has updated the European list of airlines subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union (EU air safety list). All airlines from Libya have now been added to the EU Air Safety List and are banned from operating in European airspace. No decisions were taken to remove countries whose carriers are on the EU Air Safety List.


No decisions were taken to remove countries whose carriers are on the EU Air Safety List. The new list can be found on the Commission's website.

The updated EU air safety list includes all airlines certified in 21 states, for a total of 308 airlines fully banned from EU skies: Afghanistan, Angola, Benin, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon (with the exception of 3 airlines which operate under restrictions and conditions), Indonesia (with the exception of 5 airlines), Kazakhstan (with the exception of one airline which operates under restrictions and conditions), Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Mozambique, Nepal, Philippines (with the exception of two airlines), Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sudan and Zambia. The list also includes two individual airlines: Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname) and Meridian Airways (Ghana), for an overall total of 310 airlines.

Additionally, the list includes 10 airlines which are subject to operational restrictions. These airlines can only fly to the Union with specific aircraft types: Air Astana (Kazakhstan), Afrijet, Gabon Airlines and SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), Airlift International (Ghana), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran), TAAG Angolan Airlines (Angola) and Air Madagascar (Madagascar).

Background information

The Commission decision is based on the unanimous opinion of the EU Air Safety Committee, which met on 25 and 26 November 2014 and pursuant to REGULATION (EC) No 2111/2005. The decision also received a positive opinion from the European Parliament and from the Council of Ministers. The authentic version of the EU Safety List is annexed to the Commission Regulation, as published today in the Official Journal of the European Union.

The EU Air Safety List is a list of airlines which are either considered not to be able to respect international aviation safety standards, or whose civil aviation authorities are deemed unable to provide the necessary safety oversight as foreseen by international aviation safety rules. The airlines mentioned on the EU Air Safety List are not allowed to operate to the EU, except for some of them, which can only do so under very strict conditions. The EU Air Safety List also serves as a tool to warn the travelling public when travelling in other parts of the world.

The EU Air Safety Committee consists of aviation safety experts from the Commission, from each of the 28 Member States of the Union, as well as from Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA).

Aviation supports 5.1 million jobs in Europe, directly and indirectly. It provides one billion euros of European GDP every day, generating trade and tourism.

With more than 800 million passengers using 450 airports, and with 150 scheduled airlines, the European Union is a key player in global aviation: a third of the world market.

Europe is also home to some of the world's largest airlines and airports. It is a leader in aircraft and engine manufacturing, and in air traffic management research and technology.

Since 1992, the number of flights within the EU has more than doubled. Flights operated by more than two airlines have quadrupled. It's no surprise that passengers are happy: over that time, their numbers have gone up by 300%.

List of airlines banned within the EU