Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Breaking news EU Air Safety List update clears Zambia, Iran airlines

EU Air Safety List update clears Zambia, Iran airlines

16 June 2016, 22:54 CET
— filed under: ,
EU Air Safety List update clears Zambia, Iran airlines

Zambian Airways - Photo by Patrick Mutzenberg

(BRUSSELS) - Airlines certified in Zambia, along with most aircraft of Iran Air, can resume operations to the EU, the Commission announced Thursday in an update to the EU's Air Safety List.

The EU Air Safety List is a list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards, and are consequently subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union.

The update states that all airlines certified in Zambia are cleared from the list, along with Air Madagascar and three airlines certified in Indonesia (Citilink, Lion Air and Batik Air).

In addition, most aircraft of Iran Air are allowed to resume operations to the EU.

Transport Commissioner Violeta Bulc welcomed the changes: "I am happy to say that after seven years of work and extensive European technical assistance, we were able to clear all Zambian air carriers from the list. Following my visit to Iran in April, a technical assessment was successfully carried out in May. Based on this I am happy to announce that we are now also able to allow most aircraft from Iran Air back into European skies."

Following the update, a total of 216 airlines are now banned from EU skies:

  • 214 airlines certified in 19 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states.
  • Two individual airlines, based on safety concerns: Iraqi Airways (Iraq) and Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname).

An additional six airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).

The update of the Air Safety List is based on the unanimous opinion of the safety experts from the Member States who met from 31 May to 2 June within the EU Air Safety Committee (ASC).

List of airlines banned within the EU

Document Actions