Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Currency-converter

Currency converter

Use the OFX calculator for the latest market exchange rates for your currency

Document Actions
The euro

The euro is the single currency shared by (currently) 19 of the European Union's Member States, which together make up the euro area.

The introduction of the euro in 1999 was a major step in European integration. It has also been one of its major successes: more than 337.5 million EU citizens in 19 countries now use it as their currency and enjoy its benefits, which will spread even more widely as other EU countries adopt the euro.

1999 Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Spain, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal and Finland
2001 Greece
2002 Introduction of euro banknotes and coins
2007 Slovenia
2008 Cyprus, Malta
2009 Slovakia
2011 Estonia
2014 Latvia
2015 Lithuania
Euro - the EU single currency