Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home topics Trade Cotonou Partnership Agreement

Cotonou Partnership Agreement

— filed under: ,

The ACP-EU Partnership Agreement, signed in Cotonou in June 2000, was concluded for a 20-year period from 2000 to 2020. It is the most comprehensive partnership agreement between developing countries and the EU. Replacing the Lomé Convention, it is the framework for the European Union's relations with 79 countries from Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific (ACP). In 2010, ACP-EU cooperation has been adapted to new challenges such as climate change, food security, regional integration, State fragility and aid effectiveness. The fundamental principles of the Cotonou Agreement include equality of partners, global participation (States and non-state actors), dialogue and regionalisation. The Cotonou Agreement was designed to establish a comprehensive partnership with 3 pillars: Development cooperation; Political cooperation; Economic and trade cooperation (for the period 2000-2007).

The link address is:

Document Actions