Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home topics Institutions EU legislative priorities for 2018-2019 - Joint Declaration

EU legislative priorities for 2018-2019 - Joint Declaration

15 December 2017
by eub2 -- last modified 15 December 2017

The leaders of the three EU institutions, European Commission, Parliament and Council signed today on 14 December 2017 the new Joint Declaration on the EU's legislative priorities for 2018-2019.


The Declaration sets out 31 new legislative proposals tabled by the Commission which will be given priority treatment by the Parliament and Council for adoption or substantial progress by the time of the European Parliament elections in 2019.

The Presidents of the three EU Institutions have agreed an agenda for a more inclusive and more united Union and to prepare a new financial framework for the years after 2020 which ensures the right balance between EU policies in the interest of citizens.

The Joint Declaration sets out seven priority areas:

  1. Better protecting the security of our citizens;
  2. Reforming and developing our migration policy in a spirit of responsibility and solidarity;
  3. Giving a new boost to jobs, growth and investment;
  4. Addressing the social dimension of the European Union;
  5. Delivering on our commitment to implement a connected Digital Single Market;
  6. Delivering on our objective of an ambitious Energy Union and a forward looking climate change policy; and
  7. Further developing the democratic legitimacy at EU level.

In addition, the three Presidents agreed to pursue the commitment to common European values, democracy and the rule of law; pursue a robust, open and fair trade policy; tackle tax fraud, tax evasion and tax avoidance; ensure social protection and social rights as set out in the Pillar of Social Rights; contribute to stability, security and peace; and ensure a high level of data protection, digital rights and ethical standards in artificial intelligence and robotics.

Finally, the Presidents of the three Institutions also agree to continue to work on all pending proposals from the 2017 Joint Declaration, as well as to deal with the legislative proposals set out in the Commission's 2018 Work Programme.


On 15 March 2016, the three European Institutions agreed on an Inter-institutional Agreement (IIA) on Better Law-Making, based on a European Commission proposal, presented in the May 2015 Better Regulation Agenda. This Inter-institutional Agreement set out changes across the full policy-making cycle, from consultations and impact assessment to adoption, implementation and evaluation of EU legislation. According to the Inter-institutional Agreement, the Institutions must agree on the key topics that should be prioritised by the legislators, including simplification exercises for existing laws.

Each year, the Council, the Parliament and the Commission now discuss the EU's legislative priorities and agree together on their top priorities for the upcoming year, which are set out in an annual Joint Declaration. This allows them to work more closely together to tackle the big challenges that lie ahead.

The first Joint Declaration was signed in December 2016.

Joint Declaration on the EU's legislative priorities for 2018

Source: European Commission