Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home topics The euro Luxembourg and the euro

Luxembourg and the euro

04 February 2008
by eub2 -- last modified 04 February 2008

Luxembourg is a founding member of the European Union and was one of the first-wave EU countries to adopt the euro on 1 January 1999.


Luxembourg at a glance

Surface area: 2 590 km2
Population: 459 500 (Eurostat 2006, provisional figure)
Joined the European Union: founding member (25 March 1957)
Currency: Euro since 1 January 1999 (formerly Luxembourg franc, LUF)

Euro information

Status: Euro-area member since 1 January 1999.

Fixed conversion rate: €1 = 40.3399 LUF

Adoption of the euro: The euro banknotes and coins were introduced in Luxembourg on 1 January 2002, after a transitional period of three years when the euro was the official currency but only existed as 'book money'. The dual circulation period – when both the LUF and the euro had legal tender status – ended on 28 February 2002.

Exchange of former national currency: The Banque centrale du Luxembourg (National Central Bank of Luxembourg) exchanged national coins until 31 December 2004 and will continue to exchange national banknotes for an unlimited period.

Opinion polls and surveys


National websites




Source: European Commission