Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home topics Culture European Capitals of Culture

European Capitals of Culture

— filed under:

Each year, cities chosen as European Capitals of Culture - in 2016 they are Donostia-San Sebastián (Spain) and Wrocław (Poland) - provide living proof of the richness and diversity of European cultures. Started in 1985, the initiative has become one of the most prestigious and high-profile cultural events in Europe. More than 40 cities have been designated European Capitals of Culture so far, from Stockholm to Genoa, Athens to Glasgow, and Cracow to Porto. A city is not chosen as a European Capital of Culture solely for what it is, but mainly for what it plans to do for a year that has to be exceptional. Its programme for the year must meet some specific criteria.

The link address is:

Document Actions