Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Breaking news Von der Leyen's new Commission affirms green credentials

Von der Leyen's new Commission affirms green credentials

— filed under: , ,
Von der Leyen's new Commission affirms green credentials

Ursula von der Leyen - Photo EC

(BRUSSELS) - EU Member States accepted Tuesday the list of Commissioners until 31 October 2024 proposed by European Commission president-elect Ursula Von der Leyen, with climate policy put forward as a top priority.

Presenting her team, Ms Von der Leyen said the new Commission would reflect the priorities and ambitions set out in the Political Guidelines, with a strong focus on a new 'European Green Deal'. The EU executive is structured around the objectives President-elect von der Leyen was elected on by the European Parliament.

"At the heart of our work is the need to address the changes in climate, technology and demography that are transforming our societies and way of life," she said. "The EU must lead the transition to a healthy planet and a new digital world."

The new Commission would also focus on equality and creating chances for all, whether for women or men, and would defend the common values of the EU and uphold the rule of law.

Ms Von der Leyen said her team would shape "the European Way: we will take bold action against climate change, build our partnership with the United States, define our relations with a more self-assertive China and be a reliable neighbour, for example to Africa."

The following persons have been proposed for appointment as Commissioner:

Ms Helena DALLI (Malta)
Mr Valdis DOMBROVSKIS (Latvia)
Ms Elisa FERREIRA (Portugal)
Ms Mariya GABRIEL (Bulgaria)
Mr Paolo GENTILONI (Italy)
Ms Sylvie GOULARD (France)
Mr Johannes HAHN (Austria)
Mr Phil HOGAN (Ireland)
Ms Ylva JOHANSSON (Sweden)
Ms Vera JOUROVÁ (Czech Republic)
Ms Stella KYRIAKIDES (Cyprus)
Mr Janez LENARCIC (Slovenia)
Ms Rovana PLUMB (Romania)
Mr Didier REYNDERS (Belgium)
Mr Margaritis SCHINAS (Greece)
Mr Nicolas SCHMIT (Luxembourg)
Mr Maroš ŠEFCOVIC (Slovakia)
Ms Kadri SIMSON (Estonia)
Mr Virginijus SINKEVICIUS (Lithuania)
Ms Dubravka ŠUICA (Croatia)
Mr Frans TIMMERMANS (Netherlands)
Mr László TRÓCSÁNYI (Hungary)
Ms Jutta URPILAINEN (Finland)
Ms Margrethe VESTAGER (Denmark)
Mr Janusz WOJCIECHOWSKI (Poland),

in addition to:
Mr Josep BORRELL FONTELLES (Spain), appointed High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy on 5 August 2019, by the European Council with the agreement of the President-elect of the Commission

Eight 'vice-presidents' will "steer the Commission's work on the most important overarching issues, such as the European Green Deal, a Europe fit for the digital age, an economy that works for people, protecting our European way of life, a stronger Europe in the world and a new push for European democracy. "

The European Green Deal will be coordinated by Executive Vice-President Frans Timmermans.

It will become Europe's hallmark: " At the heart of it is our commitment to becoming the world's first climate-neutral continent," said Ms Von der Leyen: "It is also a long-term economic imperative: those who act first and fastest will be the ones who grasp the opportunities from the ecological transition. I want Europe to be the front-runner. I want Europe to be the exporter of knowledge, technologies and best practice."

The European Parliament now has to give its consent to the entire College of Commissioners, including the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission.

This will be preceded by hearings of the Commissioners-designate in the relevant Parliamentary committees.

Further information about the Commissioners-designate

Document Actions